My Lens Setup

I on occasion get asked what I shoot with. More often than not I usually say Canon 6D and that’s the end of it. Most people don’t even know what that means, but for the few who inquire beyond that, I get to talk about my lenses. I figured since I was practicing my product photography this evening and photographing my lens set up I decided to talk about it tonight.

canon-lens-example
If you look close you can see how much I have actually beat up this lens. It has scratches all over it and when you rotate the focus or zoom rings you can hear the sand in the gears.

I uses the Canon 17-40 f4L lens. I use it because… that’s what I could afford. Despite what most people think. I actually struggle quite a bit to make any money with my photography. I actually acquired this lens by trading my entire Canon 60D for this lens. Yup I didn’t even buy this lens. If I had the money i would get the Canon 16-35 f4L or the 2.8 version of the lens. I would also get the Canon 11-16 f4L but that is even pushing it beyond what I could even imagine for money income.

If I have anything to say about this lens is that it is a great lens. It is far better than a kit lens in image quality, sharpness, durability, functionality, and in about every other way. Do I wish it was sharper, absolutely. Do I wish it was wider… yes. But for the price this will get you stunning results far greater than you would ever get with standard cheap wide angle lens.

hoya-exaple
You can see the few hits on this beauty, but overall it has stayed in really good condition.

I also use the Hoya circular polarizer. It is their scratch resistant water resistant version. It stays on my lens 9 times out of 10 and in general keeps the front element of my lens protected.

A quick review. I would buy it. I do notice a bit of loss of sharpness but it is very very small. I bet the singray $200 or $5oo dollar version would be better, but I don’t have that budget. If you are looking for a professional polarizer for you camera, this will do it without breaking the bank.

Please head over to my site and check out my work that I have created with this lens… And possibly buy something. That would be great.

Leave a Reply

